What Is The Penalty For Late Workers’ Comp Payment?

What Is The Penalty For Late Workers’ Comp Payment?

Workers in Illinois are entitled to workers’ comp benefits to cover injuries and losses related to workplace injury. For example, if you qualify for Temporary Total Disability (TTD) benefits, you should receive benefits that are 2/3 of your average weekly earnings. But sometimes workers’ comp payments are late and can put a lot of stress on you at the worst time. Learn more about this workers’ comp problem below, and contact our McHenry County workers’ comp lawyers at The Law Offices of Robert T. Edens, P.C. if you need help with your claim.

Workers Comp Benefits Should Be Paid On Schedule

The payments from your employer’s workers’ comp insurance company must be made on a timely basis. But if they are not, Illinois law states that the insurer has to pay stiff penalties if they do not provide a good reason for the late payments. In addition, the insurance company has 14 days to explain the late payment. These essential aspects of the workers’ comp law are found under Section 19 of Illinois’s Workers’ Compensation Act.

If you do not get a prompt response, or they do not fully explain why the workers’ comp payments are late, you should receive a $30 extra payment per day from the workers’ compensation commission. You are entitled to this additional late fee payment until benefits are paid. If you are not getting paid on time, our workers’ comp attorneys can file paperwork with the court and request a penalty claim hearing. Remember, receiving this extra payment daily will not happen automatically, so talk about it with your attorney.

What Is The Penalty Hearing?

The penalty hearing is conducted before the Illinois Workers’ Compensation Commission. Your attorney will present evidence to support the fact that your workers’ comp payments are late. For example, you and your attorney could show an inadequate response from the insurance company that does not explain the tardy payments. Or you can present an envelope with a tardy postage stamp.

After your hearing, the commission will review the case before awarding you an extra $30 daily. If the person or entity who caused the late payments does not resolve the matter promptly, additional penalties can be assessed, as well.

You do not have to tolerate this injustice if you are entitled to workers’ compensation benefits and are not paid on time. The laws of Illinois entitle most workers to workers’ comp when they are hurt on the job, even if the accident was their fault. Contact an attorney immediately if you have not received your workers’ comp payments on time.

Without the help of an attorney, you could have difficulty getting the commission to see things your way.

Speak To Our McHenry County Workers’ Comp Lawyers Today

Were you hurt on the job in McHenry County? Illinois law allows you to receive workers’ compensation for your medical expenses and lost earnings. But it can be challenging to get the most compensation handling your own claim. So, please contact our McHenry County workers’ comp lawyers at The Law Offices of Robert T. Edens, P.C., at (847) 395-2200 for assistance with your case.

Call today for a free consultation

(847) 395-2200