Posted by Bob Edens & filed under Workers Compensation Attorneys .

workers compMost Illinois employers have to pay their employee worker’s comp insurance. The insurance is designed to compensate employees who get injured on the job by covering their medical expenses.

Basic Rules about Illinois Worker’s Compensation

In Illinois, employers are required to:
  • Purchase insurance for their employees in the form of worker’s compensation or acquire permission for self-insurance as per the law.
  • Ensure that a note detailing workers' comp benefits is posted in a noticeable place in the workplace.
  • Maintain records of work-related injuries and report accidents that result in at least three lost workdays.
Besides these rules, employers are forbidden from:
  • Charging employees for any benefits they claim for worker’s compensation.
  • Firing, refusing to hire, or discriminating against an employee who claims compensation as per their rights under the Worker’s Compensation Act.
The Act covers all potential workplace injuries and illnesses, whether partially or in whole. Even if you were injured because of a mistake, you would still be covered if the incident is covered as per compensation laws. Some of the covered injuries include:
  • An injured back or knees that resulted from heavy lifting at the workplace.
  • Carpal tunnel syndrome due to repetitive motion such as typing.
  • Broken bones or concussions from blunt force trauma.
  • Slip and fall injuries in the workplace.
  • Exposure to lethal chemicals that cause disease or illnesses.
Besides on-site injuries, worker's comp also covers injuries sustained offsite, provided the circumstances that led to them are work-related. So you will be covered if, say, you get hurt while making deliveries or installing cable. The injury or illness does not have to occur at a specific time to be considered for compensation. You can still file if either occurred over several months. Lake County worker's comp attorneys can guide you.

Penalties for Non-Compliance

An employer can face strict penalties if they fail to provide or deny workers' comp for their employees. Some of them include the following:
  • Negligence to pay workers' comp insurance coverage is considered a Class A misdemeanor for each day without coverage. A guilty employer can face 12 months in jail and a fine amounting to $2,500.
  • Knowingly failing to provide compensation coverage is a Class 4 felony punishable with a jail sentence of several years and a $25,000 fine. With consistent non-compliance, the employer may also have to shut their company down till they get insurance.
  • Uninsured employers can be fined $500 for every day they fail to get coverage for their employees. They may also face a citation ranging from $500 to $2500 from the Insurance Compliance Division, losing protections that the Worker’s Compensation Act can give them. This includes protection from lawsuits that their employees may file to sue them.

Personal Injury Attorney

Contact Robert Edens to Get the Compensation You Deserve

Robert Edens and the Lake County worker's comp attorneys in his team have fought for the rights of injured workers in Illinois for years. In the last two decades, they have recovered millions of dollars for their clients. Get in touch with him for a consultation today and get the compensation you deserve.